2015 Reading Challenge

I found this  reading challenge on Pinterest a couple weeks ago and thought I’d try it.  I’ve been trying to make myself read through my bookshelves, as I own several dozen books that I haven’t even read yet.  I’ve also been trying to branch out a little more from my usual genre and read more classics.  So I spent the last week and a half of 2014 coming up with my reading list and anxiously waiting for January 1st so I could start my books. I even put them in the order I plan to read them in, dividing up the more difficult reads so that I don’t save them all for the end.  We’ll see if I can follow it.  I also saved a few books that I’m really looking forward to reading as my ‘reward’ books.  After I complete my goal each month, I have two bonus books I can read.

With 52 titles for the challenge, another 50 to complete series that I will start in the challenge, and 14 bonus reads, I’ve set a lofty goal of 150 books for the year.  January 1st, we kicked off the reading challenge with the following categories:

  • A book that scares me:  War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy.  A classic that’s well over 1000 pages, to me is very intimidating.  Plus, I don’t do frightening books, at all, so I chose this type of scary.  I plan to read this one slowing, reading a bit each day and taking most of the year if necessary.  So far, we’re through one chapter and I’m grateful for my new kindle, which makes looking up words and footnotes super easy.  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/656.War_and_Peace
  • A book I started but never finished:  Montana Skies by Ann Bell.  I started this one last year, and it’s been sitting half finished for at least eight months because I’ve always had something better to read.  This was part of my effort to read through all the books I own.  (My books are alphabetized by author and I’m still in the A’s and B’s, so you can see how much progress I’ve made.)  A collection of four short stories, the author picked good subjects and storylines, I’m just not a fan of her writing style and I’m really struggling to finish this book.  It just doesn’t hold my attention, so as soon as I’m done, it’s going to be donated.  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/312729.Montana_Skies
  • A book with antonyms in the title:  This was a difficult category for me to fill.  The best I could find on my to-read shelf was Death Benefits by Hannah Alexander, book eight in the Hideaway Series, which I’m currently about halfway through reading.  So next up on my reading list are books 5-7 in this series.  These are my easy reads for the month.  https://www.goodreads.com/series/41468-hideaway
  • January’s bonus books:  Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey and The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron.  I’ve really been looking forward to reading both of these, so that’s my motivation to keep up with my reading goals.  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22504482-sabotaged  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18850688-the-butterfly-and-the-violin

Time for me to get reading!  It’s going to be a great year.  What are your reading plans and goals for this year?

Leave a Reply

