Reading Challenge- February Update

Last month, I did a great job of following my reading plan and meeting my goals.  February, however, has seen me sidetracked many times.  I’ve still been reading as much, just not following my challenge.  Oops.  I’ll have to try harder in March.  Here’s what I was supposed to be reading this month:

A Book your mom loves:  The first thing that came to mind when I saw this category were The Cat Who books by Lillian Jackson Braun.  My mom is an avid reader and these were the ones I always remembered seeing her reading.  I’d tried to read one back then, but it just didn’t hold my attention as a teenager.  I picked the first book, The Cat Who Could Read Backwards and I really enjoyed it.

A Book with a one-word title:  I chose Refuge by Lisa Tawn Bergren, book 1 in the Full Circle Series, intending to read the entire six books in the series.  I’m currently halfway through the fifth book, so it’s not looking promising that I’ll finish the series.

A Book with more than 500 pages:  Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  I finally watched the movie last December and just fell in love with the story.  The book has been really good, but it’s just so long!  According to my kindle I still have 29 hours of reading time to go, so unless I can forego sleeping for the rest of the month, it’s not going to be finished in February.

And here’s the list of books that distracted me:

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Targeted by Becky Avella

Game of Love and Truth or Dare, 2 novellas from Denise Hunter

Georgia on Her Mind and Hurricane Allie, both by Rachel Hauck

A Match for Addy by Emma Miller

My bonus books for the month were Without a Trace by Colleen Coble (Which I already read) and Hallowed Halls by Hannah Alexander (Which I’ll read next month)

I comfort myself with the fact that February is the shortest month and I just picked too many books to read.  March should go better.  Plus, I’ll have a week off work, so extra reading time!

Leave a Reply

