Take a Chance on Me by Susan May Warren

Take a Chance on Me

Right now I am wondering, since Susan May Warren’s been one of my favorite authors for years, why did it take me so long to start reading the Christiansen Series? I can’t believe how much I enjoyed this story! It was such an emotional journey with all the characters. My heart was breaking with theirs and a few tears were shed as well.

I loved how the author uses four different points of view from the main characters, Darek and Ivy plus Jensen and Claire. They’re all connected through one major event and seeing it from all their different perspectives brought another whole dimension to the story. It just blew me away and I was quickly invested in all of their outcomes.

Plot: Ivy Madison comes to Deep Haven to start her new job as assistant district attorney. Widower Darek Christiansen is trying to prove to his in-laws that he’s a good single parent to five-year-old Tiger. Jensen Atwood just wants to finish up his court-mandated community service to pay for his part in the accident that took Darek’s wife’s life and get far away from the town where he’s no longer welcome. Claire Gibson just wants to stay in Deep Haven, despite her family’s urging that she goes to college. What will happen when the truth comes out surrounding the death of Felicity? Will they be able to forgive?

The story takes place in Deep Haven, a small fictional town in northern Minnesota. Fans of Warren’s will recognize this from her previous series. It was an unexpected and special treat for me to go back there and visit a few familiar characters.

Recommendation: With a theme of forgiveness, strong bonds of family and an excellent cast of characters, this is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I’d strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a moving story.

Rating: 5/5 stars

One thought on “Take a Chance on Me by Susan May Warren

Leave a Reply

