Justified by Varina Denman

Justified

I enjoyed every bit of this story. With a small town that feels like it’s still in the simpler times of the past, Justified deals with very modern issues. Pregnancy out of wedlock, an ex-convict that served his time for rape, an abusive relationship and some huge, life-changing family secrets all combine for a book that ran me through an emotional gauntlet. I love when a story draws me in so well that I can feel the characters pain, anger and joy.  I do feel that I should warn readers that there are a few scenes involving a snake infestation, so those who don’t like snakes may not appreciate those parts of the book. Fortunately, where I live, we don’t have any native poisonous snakes, or I’d be a little bit paranoid.

Plot: Fawn Blaylock, pregnant at 21, is disowned by her parents, who would like to see a wedding between Fawn and Tyler, the baby’s father. Fawn wants nothing to do with the rich, yet troubled, father-to-be and ends up on her own until the Pickett family helps her out. JohnScott Pickett, their adult son and her former teacher, befriends Fawn and helps fix up her new place. Meanwhile, Tyler is determined to do whatever he can to win her back and claim his child.

Characters: I really enjoyed the theme of forgiveness of one’s self and how realistic the characters were. Fawn struggled, making some bad decisions along the way that had me a little frustrated with her. She was kind of a spoiled rich girl in the last book, so it was nice to see that stripped away as she goes through a major growing and maturing time. From the moment I met him in Jaded, JohnScott became a favorite character. I was so glad to see him as the hero in Justified. As a football coach and high school teacher, he’s a good role model and has shown great character. Tyler was the sort of character that you love to hate. He brought out more emotion from me than any other character, even though it was negative.

Recommendation: I’d highly recommend reading Justified. If you haven’t read Jaded, I’d suggest reading that first, as it gives a lot of Fawn and JohnScott’s background. Besides, it’s just as wonderful a story as this one is and you won’t want to miss it.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

For more about book one, Jaded, check out my review: https://michellekrim.wordpress.com/2015/04/08/giveaway-and-book-review-jaded-by-varina-denman/#more-71    (Sorry, the giveaway has ended)

Leave a Reply

