Hiding Places by Erin Healy

Hiding Places

First thoughts:  I really enjoyed this story much more than I thought I would.  I generally enjoy a little romance in my reading, but with the main character being 11 years old, I knew that wasn’t going to happen.  As I became engrossed in this book, I didn’t miss the lack of a love interest at all.  The story moved along at a nice pace, had some twists, and kept enough secrets that I had to keep reading to find out what would happen.

Plot:  Kate is good at keeping secrets, from the candy bars she hides for her grandpa to her sister’s drug use, the four generations of her family running the Harrison lodge all have secrets to keep.  When Kate overhears her grandpa arguing with a man that later turns up dead, the action picks up around her home.  Meanwhile, Charlie finds himself caught in the middle of a robbery, then kidnapping gone bad.  He’s on the run from the Mile High Heavies gang and looking for a safe place to hide.

Characters:  The story is told from the four perspectives of Kate, Great-Grandma Pearl, the young homeless man Charlie, and a gang leader known as The Fox.  I enjoyed the diversity of the characters, as they all come from such different backgrounds and are at different stages of life.  I loved that while some were antagonists in the story, I still felt a connection with them and was rooting for all to get their happy endings.  It takes a great story to make me like the ‘bad guy’.

Recommendation:  I’d highly recommend this book to those who enjoy clean suspense without the romance.  Although it’s classified as Christian, there wasn’t much more than a few bible story references, so I’d consider it more of a general market.  This was the first book I’ve read by Erin Healy, but I’ll definitely be looking for more from her.

One interesting side note, the story does include a few orphaned cougar cubs and mentions the WIld Animal Sanctuary, a real large carnivore rescue site near Denver.  I’ve visited there on vacation and it was an amazing place.  I love that the author mentioned it, as it made the setting of the story feel more real to me.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

