Rising Darkness by Nancy Mehl

Rising Darkness

This was the first I’ve read anything  by Nancy Mehl, and it was good enough to make me a fan.  While it’s the third book in the series, it did stand alone and I didn’t feel I was missing any background.  The suspense was well written and it kept me guessing until the end.  The story is told from Sophie’s first person perspective, which I normally don’t enjoy, but I was so caught up in the story I barely noticed that, so kudos to the author for a job well done.

Plot:  Sophie Bauer has some things from her past she’d rather keep hidden.  As a newspaper reporter, she’s looking for a big story that can make her career.  When she receives a tip that a criminal from a well-known bank heist may be hiding out in Sanctuary, Missouri, she takes some vacation time and goes undercover to track down a criminal.  When an old crush from her previous life in Kingdom shows up, Sophie’s cover story starts to unravel.  As the danger grows, Sophie doesn’t know who to trust.

Characters:  The story is told solely through Sophie.  I liked how the author hinted at things in her past, then gradually revealed them through the story.  Sophie’s been through some rough times which makes the reader sympathize with her.  She’s a little lost, but doesn’t realize it until she arrives in Sanctuary and is surrounded by the kindly Mennonite community.  Jonathon Wiese grew up with Sophie in Kingdom and  is now a pastor in Sanctuary.  There are also plenty of suspicious characters that are possibly the criminal Sophie is searching for, which kept the story interesting and suspenseful.

Recommendation:   I’d highly recommend this book to those that enjoy suspense and mystery.  After reading it, I’m definitely going to look for more books from Nancy Mehl.

Rating:  5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

