A Respectable Actress by Dorothy Love PLUS GIVEAWAY

A Respectable Actress

First thoughts:  This was a difficult one for me to rate because parts were really good but some of it was just mediocre.  The mystery was interesting, but the romance fell a little short to me.    I didn’t feel like there was really a reason for the main characters to be falling in love.  The historical look into the theater world and the trial were interesting enough to make up for any other shortcomings.  The story had enough twists to keep me wondering.

Plot:  Actress India Hartley’s co-star is stealing the limelight and making enemies.  When he’s shot in the middle of the play and it appears India is the culprit, it’s up to lawyer Philip Sinclair to keep her from going to prison.  Philip needs time to prepare a defense, so he takes India to his plantation on Saint Simon’s Island.  While there, India realizes that Philip and his servants all have secrets.  As everything comes together, India’s life becomes endangered as clearly the real murderer doesn’t want to be found.

Recommendation:  I’d recommend this story to those who enjoy historical and mystery.  This was the first I’ve read from Dorothy Love and I’ll be looking for more of her books.

Rating:  3.5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Giveaway: Leave a comment to enter to win my gently used copy of A Respectable Actress.  What have you been reading lately?  Giveaway ends on Dec. 12th at midnight.

5 thoughts on “A Respectable Actress by Dorothy Love PLUS GIVEAWAY

  1. Sounds like an interesting read. I love books that have a historical bent to them. You get to pretend you are flouncing around in poufy dresses for some hours :3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh this sounds like a book just up my alley!! I love a good historical fiction book with a touch of romance and throw in mystery as well?! I can’t wait to hopefully get my hands on this book!! Thanks for this giveaway!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

