Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey

cold-shot

First thoughts:  Cold Shot just became one of my favorite books I’ve ever read.  I really enjoyed the Alaskan Courage series from this author and I feel like she stepped it up another notch or two with this story.  It  was exceptionally well done, with an intricate plot that kept me reading late into the night.  The characters were all so deeply fleshed out, with enough history and chemistry between them to keep things very interesting.

Plot:  Former SWAT sniper Griffin McCray is now a park ranger at Gettysburg, a job that should be quieter, until he discovers what’s left of a body buried there.  As it’s clearly more recent than the Civil War, he calls in forensic anthropologist Finley Scott to examine the remains.  The two quickly find themselves in over their heads with this investigation and FBI agent Declan Gray and crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell, two of Griffin’s college buddies, are called in to assist.  There’s clearly more going on than they realize, and soon it’s apparent that the killer plans to eliminate them all.

This story held me captivated the whole way through with plenty of action, an investigation that was interesting and informative, plenty of raw emotion from the characters, and enough mystery and twists to keep me guessing.  I loved meeting all the characters and can’t wait to learn more about Declan and Parker in the coming books.    I really enjoyed how they all had to play a part in solving the crime, not just Griffin and Finley.   The only thing I don’t like is having to wait until the next book.

Recommendation:  I’d strongly recommend Cold Shot to those who enjoy romantic suspense.  The details of the investigation reminded me of a CSI show.  For the more sensitive readers, there is slight descriptions of forensic details, as a skeleton is discovered, but nothing too creepy.  Also, there are a few unanswered questions about the history of Griffin, Declan and Parker, so if that will bother you, maybe wait until the series is completed to read them all.

Rating:  6/5 stars  (Yes, six!)  I can do that, right?

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey

Leave a Reply

