If I Run by Terri Blackstock

If I Run

First thoughts: This book was so fresh and unique!  I loved every minute of it.  While I usually struggle with the first person perspective, this one was so well written that I barely noticed it as I became engrossed in the storyline.  I liked that the author didn’t shy away from Dylan’s PTSD and his dark thoughts.  It brought grit and reality to the story.   This didn’t go at all like I thought it would, but I really enjoyed the story.

Plot:  When Casey  Cox discovers her friend Brent’s body, she realizes she’ll be blamed for the murder, packs up a few things and skips town.  Contacted by Brent’s parents, former Army Criminal Investigator Dylan Roberts is hired to track Casey down and bring her to justice.  The action never stops as Casey is on the run, forced to create a false identity while still trying to solve Brent’s murder.

Characters:  The story is told alternately from Casey and Dylan’s perspectives.  Casey quickly earned my respect as she proves how smart and resourceful she is.  I love how she takes the time to pay her landlord before she leaves.  That says a lot about her character.  Dylan is a dark hero, dealing with PTSD.  I liked his tenacity and how he didn’t take everything at face value, but wanted to learn more about Casey and what happened to Brent.

Recommendation:  I’d highly recommend this book to fans of suspense.  It’s the first in the series and judging by this one, they may all revolve around Casey and Dylan.   There are some things that are not resolved by the end of the book. It didn’t have as much of a spiritual thread as I expected from Terri Blackstock, but I’m seeing great potential for more of that in future stories.  She has been a favorite author for a long time and I’m looking forward to the next book!  (Rather impatiently)

Rating:  5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Check out the book trailer here or more from the publisher TNZ fiction

 

Leave a Reply

