Mermaid Moon by Colleen Coble

Mermaid Moon

First thoughts: This is probably the best story I’ve read from Colleen Coble so far.  I loved the amount of suspense and mystery.  The characters’ stories and secrets were revealed throughout the book in a way that kept me guessing until the end.

 Plot:  When Mallory’s dad calls and tells her with his last dying breath to ‘Find Mother’, she doesn’t know what to think.  Her mom died 15 years ago.  Returning to the hometown she left years ago will bring her father’s murderer to her door.  Game warden Kevin O’Connor is torn between helping her find the killer or keeping his heart safe from the woman who broke it years ago.

Characters:  Kevin and Mallory have a history, but they both moved on and married others.  Now that they’re both single again, it was nice to see them getting a second chance.  I enjoyed seeing Mallory and Kevin’s interactions with both of their respective daughters, Haylie and Sadie.  I liked that the author included Sadie’s blindness in the story.  I always enjoy  meeting characters that aren’t physically perfect and getting to walk in their shoes just a little bit.

Recommendation:  I recommend this book to those who enjoy great suspense with a little bit or romance.  Although it’s the second book in the series, Mermaid Moon can stand alone.  I hadn’t read the first one, and didn’t feel like I was missing anything.  I look forward to reading more in this series.

Rating:  4.5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

