Her One and Only by Becky Wade

Her One and Only

First thoughts: This was the perfect conclusion to the great Porter Family Series.  I really liked the unique twist of a female bodyguard protecting a tough male.  I also enjoyed the added suspense in the story, which was an unexpected, but delightful, change from the rest of the books.

Plot:  NFL star Gray Fowler has been receiving threats from a stalker.  Dru Porter, executive protection agent, has been tasked to keep him safe.  Gray can’t believe that this woman who’s half his size can really keep him safe, but as an ex-Marine, Dru is more than up to the task.  Just coming off of an unsuccessful job, Dru is determined not to get herself personally involved with the client.  That proves more difficult than she would like, as  Gray, not wanting it known that she’s his bodyguard, comes up with the cover story that she’s his girlfriend.  Sparks fly as the two have trouble seeing eye to eye.

Characters:  I sided with Dru when it came to Gray.  I didn’t like him all that much at first, but as I got to know him and see his true character, he grew on me.  Gray goes through a period of transformation through the book.  I enjoyed seeing him become the man he was meant to be.  I immediately became a fan of Dru.  She’s spunky, tough, and basically everything that I’m not.  I also really enjoyed Meg having a big part in the story as well.  It’s fun to catch up on characters after their ‘happily ever after’ starts.

Recommendation:  I’d highly recommend this book, and the entire series, to those who enjoy contemporary romance with strong female characters.  The story can stand alone, but I think you’ll want to read the rest of the series first.  For the more conservative readers, I will warn that there is alcohol consumption in the story, as Gray is not a Christian in the beginning, but I found everything to be tastefully written.

Rating:  4.5/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from Bethany House and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Her One and Only by Becky Wade

Leave a Reply

