Every Bride Has Her Day by Janice Thompson *PLUS Giveaway

Every Bride

This was the third book in the series, which follows Katie and Brady from their engagement to their wedding.  As a standalone, it’s an enjoyable book.  Having just read the two previous books in the series, however, I found it to be a little tedious.  Besides the main characters, practically every other single person through the whole series finds their true love.  I was actually rooting for one of the single characters to NOT meet anyone, and that’s not like me.

Plot:  Katie and Brady have just become engaged.  Thanks to the contest she won in the first book, Katie already has her dream dress.  She just needs to plan her ideal wedding.  Her family and friends, trying to be helpful, all have their own suggestions.  Things quickly get out of Katie’s control and she wonders if  her big day will her dream wedding or a disaster.

Characters:  There are plenty of quirky characters in this story!  From the WOP-pers (Women of Prayer) group in Katie’s hometown and her Aunt Alva to the ladies of the bridal shop, there are few serious moments in the story.  I really like Katie and Brady.  Their relationship was well written in this book. Many of the other characters seem to run together and don’t have unique personalities.  I had trouble trying to keep track of the WOP-pers as they all seemed to be the same character.

What I Liked: The author has a great writing voice.  I’m not usually a fan of the first-person perspective, so it takes a great writer to make me not notice that in a book.  I enjoyed how each book had quotes at the beginning of the chapter.  This one included quotes from Audrey Hepburn, who is one of my favorite actresses.  I loved the descriptions of the dresses and the fun details of the wedding.

Recommendation:  While this wasn’t my ideal book, those who enjoy lighthearted fiction and wedding planning will enjoy this story.  If you’re reading the whole series, I suggest spreading them out a little bit.  If I hadn’t just read the previous two, I’m sure I would have enjoyed it more.  I really liked the beginning of the series and I plan to give the author another chance and read more of her books.

Rating:  3/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review.

Before you go, leave a comment to enter the giveaway to win my copy of Every Bride Has Her Day.  What is your favorite part of a wedding?  Seeing the dress? Eating cake?  Sorry, due to shipping costs, giveaway is open for US mailing addresses only.  Giveaway ends at midnight on June 8th.

One thought on “Every Bride Has Her Day by Janice Thompson *PLUS Giveaway

  1. My favorite part of a wedding is when the bride walks up the aisle to the groom. It’s just so beautiful and, if it’s a Christian couple, sacred.

    nina4sm/at/gmail/dot/com

    Like

Leave a Reply

