An Elegant Façade by Kristi Ann Hunter *Plus Giveaway Links*

An Elegant Façade

I’ve found one of my new favorite authors!  An Elegant Façade is definitely going to be on my “Top Books of 2016′ list at the end of the year.  While reading this story, I was torn between wanting to find out what happens in the end and wishing it would last forever.  An excellent story teller, Kristi Ann Hunter took an unlikeable character from her previous books, peeled back the layers and turned Georgina Hawthorne into a great heroine.  I really enjoyed the unique beginning to the story, where we see events from the previous book happening from the perspectives of Georgina and Colin.

Plot:  Georgina Hawthorne is coming out in society this season and she has plans to marry well and quickly.  She’s been hiding her ‘shortcoming’ and knows she may only have one chance at this before her secret is revealed, leaving her undesirable to London’s elite.  Colin McCrae has money and business connections, but no family pedigree, leaving him on the sidelines of proper society.  While he finds Georgina to be rather stuck up, their paths keep crossing and Colin starts to realize that there’s more to Georgina than what first meets the eye.

Characters:  Georgina was not at all likeable in the first book of the series, so I was curious to see how the author would change her.  As her secret is revealed, Georgina earns the reader’s sympathy.  I especially enjoyed the interactions between Georgina and her maid, Harriette.  It was through these scenes that I came to know the true Georgina.  Colin was a great hero; the honorable sort who’s content  to sit on the sidelines, observing and listening to what’s going on around him.  The scenes with Colin and Georgina were perfect, full of witty dialog and plenty of sparks flying.  I loved every moment between them.

“You look good in green.”

Daft man.  “Perhaps you should consider spectacles.  I’m wearing white.”

“Ah, yes, but the jealousy has livened your complexion.”

The absolute gall of the man infuriated her.

Recommendation:  I highly recommend this story to anyone who enjoys regency romance.  There’s a little bit of faith thrown into the story, but it feels so natural and not overbearing.  An Elegant Façade is the second book in the Hawthorne House series, and while it could stand alone,  I’d recommend reading A Noble Masquerade first, as the storylines are parallel through parts of the book.

Rating:  5/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 Goodreads is giving away 20 copies of An Elegant Façade here.

For a fun character spotlight and giveaway, visit relzreviewz.

Check out the prequel, A Lady of Esteem which is currently a FREE e-book on Amazon.

My review of book 1: A Noble Masquerade.

For more about Kristi Ann Hunter and her books, check out her website http://www.kristiannhunter.com/.

Hope you enjoyed reading this review as much as I enjoyed writing it. Since this is the best book I’ve read recently, I’m wondering what’s your recent favorite? While I don’t need more books to add to my ‘To Read’ pile, that doesn’t stop me from doing it anyway.

One thought on “An Elegant Façade by Kristi Ann Hunter *Plus Giveaway Links*

Leave a Reply

