No Way Up by Mary Connealy plus GIVEAWAY!

No Way UpThis is probably the best I’ve read from Mary Connealy so far. Filled with her trademark quirky humor, the story was entertaining from start to finish. I enjoyed the mix of humor and danger. The story moved at a great pace and kept my interest throughout. I also love how her different series still have a connection, so if you’ve read the Kincaid Brides series, you may find a familiar face.

Plot: When Heath Kincaid goes out with his boss to track down some cattle, he has no idea his life will drastically change.  After an avalanche sends them running for safety, Heath must fight to save Chance Boden’s life. Then he finds himself caught in the middle of the ranch owners three kids as they’re fulfilling their father’s wishes.  While he’s not dying, Chance still insists that his sons and daughter, Sadie, read his will and learn that they must all get along and live on the ranch for a full year.  Otherwise, a distant relative inherits the whole thing.  Heath finds the family bickering entertaining, until they realize that the avalanche wasn’t natural and someone else wants the family’s ranch.

Characters:  I really liked Heath.  Even though it’s not his fight, he sticks around to help the Boden family, putting his own life on the line to save them.  Sadie’s a typical Connealy heroine:  a tough woman that can hold her own and won’t be told what she can or can’t do. I also liked the supporting characters and the bit of foreshadowing into Sadie’s brother’s stories.

Recommendation:   I’d recommend this book to those who enjoy historical westerns with strong female protagonists.  If you like Melissa Jagears, Regina Jennings or Karen Witemeyer, I’d suggest giving this book a try.  While the characters are Christian and the book is pretty clean, there’s not a lot of spiritual threads, so I could recommend it for general market readers as well.

Rating:  4/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

The prequel novella, The Boden Birthright, is available for FREE on Amazon! If you’ve never read anything from Mary Connealy, that’s a great way to discover a new author. The Boden Birthright

I’m giving away one copy of No Way Up. Just leave me a comment and tell me what’s your favorite genre. Mystery? Suspense? Romance? Historical or contemporary? Or, like me, all of the above.  Giveaway open to US mailing addresses only, please. Giveaway ends 8/4/16.

 

7 thoughts on “No Way Up by Mary Connealy plus GIVEAWAY!

  1. Michelle,

    I found your place in the blogiverse through twitter (where I’m now following your reviews). Historical fiction, particularly biblical fiction, is my favorite genre. I also tend to gravitate towards suspense (Ronie Kendig, Lisa Harris, Dani Pettrey…). One of my goals for this year has been to read out of my comfort zone. I’ve tried a few new authors and read my first Western Fiction novel. I’ve followed Mary for awhile, but have never read any of her work. If I win, I plan to change that. 🙂

    @AmandaGeaney

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

