Mrs. Lee & Mrs. Gray by Dorothy Love *PLUS Giveaway*

mrs-lee-and-mrs-grayI was amazed by the amount of research that must have gone into the writing of this story. Based on Mrs. Robert E Lee and one of her family’s slaves, this is a fictionalized account of both their lives from childhood until death. The history of the story was fascinating and I really enjoyed the glimpses into the personal lives of the Lee family. They definitely went through their share of heartache. While this wasn’t a light story, it didn’t get too difficult to read either, as the family was mostly kind in the ways they treated their slaves. At times, it felt like the author was painting everything a little too rosy, but while many slaves suffered greatly, I’m sure there were some that were treated better.

I felt the story moved along at a nice pace, given the amount of time it had to cover. When they were young, Mary Custis and Selena Norris weren’t really friends, but as they go through life, they were drawn closer to each other. The story is written from the first person perspective of both Mary and Selena, and doesn’t follow a strict timeline.. At times, that made the story a little more difficult to follow, as something would happen in Mary’s life, then we go to Selena’s view where it hasn’t happened yet, but I enjoyed having the two perspectives.

I’d highly recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Civil War era. It’s a stand-alone story. I enjoyed both being entertained and feeling like I was learning some history. I’ve always enjoyed learning more about that part of our nation’s past.

Rating:  4/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild in exchange for an honest review.

I’m giving away my copy of Mrs. Lee and Mrs. Gray to one lucky reader. Just tell me what you like or dislike about fiction set in the Civil War era. Due to high costs of shipping internationally, this giveaway is open to US mailing addresses only. Giveaway ends on Oct. 12th. Share on social media for extra entries, just be sure to let me know in the comments if you did so.

Thanks for stopping by today and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Lee & Mrs. Gray by Dorothy Love *PLUS Giveaway*

  1. As I haven’t read a lot of Civil War fiction recently, I don’t know what I like or dislike. For history in general, I do like to see the basic facts of the event(s) being correct even if the story itself is not completely factual. The events of the Civil War era have a lot of controversy even today, and I would enjoy reading about how those people who lived through it reacted or acted and why.

    Like

  2. I agree with you on the facts being correct. While they have to take some liberties on dialog, it’s nice to know the events are as they really happened. I think you’d enjoy this one! Thanks for stopping by. So far, your chances of winning are pretty good. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

