The Witnesses by Robert Whitlow *Plus Giveaway*

Details for the giveaway at the end of this review!

the-witnessesThis was a creative plot that featured a dual timeline, in the present day and in WWII Germany. For me, that was the best part of the book. I thought the legal side was well written with enough details to clarify things but not bogging the story down with too much legal talk. That being said, I didn’t care for the author’s writing style. It felt too amateurish. Multiple times he used wording such as ‘The phone rang. It was so-and-so.’ It left me feeling disconnected from the action. All in all, a bit of a disappointment for me, because the story had such potential. I’d love to see what could be done by adding a co-author to improve on the writing side a bit.

 From the Back Cover:  Parker House’s secret inheritance is either his greatest blessing… or hisDD deadliest curse. The fresh-faced North Carolina attorney shares his German grandfather’s uncanny ability to see future events in his mind’s eye- a gift that has haunted 82-year-old Frank House through decades of trying to erase a murderous wartime past.

While Parker navigates the intrigue and politics of small-town courtroom law, Frank is forced to face his darkest regrets. Then, a big career break for Parker collides with a new love he longs to nurture and the nightmares his grandfather can no longer escape. Sudden peril threatens to shatter not only Parker’s legal prospects but also his life and the lives of those dearest to him. Two witnesses, two paths, an uncertain future.

Recommendation:   Legal thrillers aren’t my usual genre, but I’d recommend this book to those fans. Again, the plot was interesting and kept my attention, but the writing style could’ve used a little improvement. I’d probably give the author another chance and read more of his work.

Rating:  3/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild. This review is my honest opinion.

Want to win a copy of this book? Leave a comment here and tell me if you’ve read any legal thrillers. Giveaway open to US mailing addresses only, please. Ends on Thursday, Nov. 3rd. Become a follower of my blog to earn extra entries and to be sure you don’t miss upcoming giveaways.

One thought on “The Witnesses by Robert Whitlow *Plus Giveaway*

Leave a Reply

