Just a Kiss by Denise Hunter

just-a-kissSummer Harbor Series, Book 3

Another great swoon-worthy romance from Denise Hunter! I’ve been waiting for this story since I first met Riley and Paige in Falling Like Snowflakes, the first book of this series. I always enjoy a great friends-to-lovers story, and this was the perfect conclusion to the Summer Harbor series. I adored having a physically flawed hero, even if it was heartbreaking to see what Riley had to go through. I love how the author always weaves in the inspirational threads as a natural part of the story.

Plot:  Riley Callahan has been in love with his best friend, Paige Warren, for a long time, even though she doesn’t know it. He enlisted in the Marines just to get away when Paige was dating his brother. When Paige and Beau broke up, he was heading to boot camp, but now he’s coming home an amputee. The Callahan family arranges for Riley to recover at Paige’s house, which will make it very difficult for Riley to keep his feelings in check. Paige deserves better than a broken man.

Characters:  Riley’s story has been heartbreaking from the beginning, and I loved getting to know him more. He’s my favorite Callahan brother and quite the charming hero! Paige’s love for animals and the shelter makes her endearing and I love her loyalty to her best friend. The chemistry between the two of them is so well written and I enjoyed every minute of their story.

Recommendation:   I’d highly recommend this book to those who enjoy great inspirational romance. It was the best of the series by far! While it can stand alone, I’d recommend reading the first two books, because you’ll get a little more of Paige and Riley’s back story. I’m sorry to see this series come to an end, but I look forward to seeing what the author comes up with next.

Rating:  5/5 stars

 I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild. This review is my honest opinion.

 

One thought on “Just a Kiss by Denise Hunter

Leave a Reply

