Wild Montana Skies by Susan May Warren

wild-montana-skiesMontana Rescue Series, book 1

After reading the last series from this author, I had high expectations for this book. While it was still a great story, it didn’t pack the emotional punch that the Christiansen series had. I was expecting to see a little more of the search and rescue side of the story. The author is still one of my favorites, though, and I enjoyed how she wove in the story of Sierra and Ian along with Ben and Kacey’s.  To be honest, I’m liking Ian and Sierra more, and I think their story is going to continue throughout the entire series.

Plot: When they were teenagers, Ben King and Kacey Fairing were almost married. When things didn’t work out as they planned, Ben took off to Nashville to become a country music superstar and Kacey joined the Army as a helicopter pilot. Years later, they’re both back home. Ben’s helping out his injured dad while he tries to recover his career after being betrayed by the other half of his duo. Kacey wants to reconnect with her daughter Audrey and is starting a new job as pilot for PEAK Rescue. When Ben and Kacey are thrown together for a rescue after Audrey goes missing, sparks will fly. Meanwhile, founder of the PEAK Rescue team Ian and his assistant Sierra are at odds when information about Ian’s niece’s disappearance from two years ago comes to light.

Characters: It took a little time for me to like Ben and Kacey. I couldn’t relate to them very well. I didn’t understand why they’d split up and how Kacey could leave her daughter with her grandparents during deployments. As the story progressed and their histories were revealed, I started to understand their motivations. I think Ben had a rough start, as my dislike for country music was one strike against him before I started reading. However, his show of character definitely redeemed him as the story progressed.

Recommendation: I’d highly recommend this story to those who enjoy contemporary inspirational romance. It’s the first of the Montana Rescue series and can stand alone, but I’d suggest reading the prequel novella, If Ever I Would Leave You first. It introduces Ian and Sierra while giving some back story on a thread that will run through the series. Plus, it’s currently free on Amazon, so check it out in the above link.

Buy  Wild Montana Skies as well!

I’m looking forward to learning more about the rest of the PEAK Rescue team and hopefully seeing more of Ian and Sierra in the next book!

Rating:  4/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from Revell. This review is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

