Top Reads of 2016

It’s hard to believe another year is almost over! I read so many good books this year that it was difficult to narrow it down, but here are my favorites, in no particular order. To learn more about any of these books, follow the links to my review.

Must Reads- These are the stories that I’d most highly recommend. In fact, just thinking about them makes me want to go re-read them immediately.

cold-shotYou're the One That I Want

where-two-hearts-meetAn Elegant Façade     

Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey As much as I enjoyed her first series, this book starts out even better. I’m looking forward to the next story.

You’re the One That I Want by Susan May Warren Never has a series of books made me shed so many tears as this one did, but I loved every one so much. This is the last book in the series and I’d definitely recommend reading them all in order.

Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson Prince Edward Island, romance, and excellent food. Need I say more? Caden is the closest heroine to myself I’ve ever met, so I absolutely adored this story.

An Elegant Façade by Kristi Ann Hunter If you enjoy Regency romance, this series is one of the best I’ve ever read. I loved the unique twist of seeing some events that happened in the last story through different characters’ perspectives.

Top Contemporary Romance This was a tough category to narrow down to my top four. As several excellent authors had a couple of books releasing this year, I’ve combined them. My top picks are:

Like Never Beforekeep-holding-onThe Goodbye Bridejust-a-kissthe-red-door-innsea rose lane

Like Never Before and Keep Holding On by Melissa Tagg The Walker Family series has been excellent. Who wouldn’t want to live in the charming quirky town of Maple Valley?

The Goodbye Bride and Just A Kiss by Denise Hunter If you enjoy plenty of kisses in your romance while still keeping it clean and inspirational, Denise Hunter is the author for you. I adored this series and was sorry to see it end.

The Red Door Inn by Liz Johnson The first book of the Prince Edward Island Dreams series is full of charm and emotion. And how about the gorgeous cover? I really need to visit someday.

Sea Rose Lane by Irene Hannon Hope Harbor is another one of those charming fictional towns that I’d love to move to. Irene Hannon is a top storyteller and writes both contemporary romance and suspense equally well.

Top Historical- While I didn’t read as many historical books this year, I did have a few that really stood out.

ReluctantDuchess_mck.indda-lady-unrivaledA Heart Most Certain

The Reluctant Duchess and A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M. White This author was a fantastic new discovery for me. I read The Reluctant Duchess and fell in love with the hero. And the heroine in A Lady Unrivaled was perfectly entertaining!

A Heart Most Certain by Melissa Jagears One of the more surprising stories for me, I didn’t expect this one to be as excellent as it was. I was anticipating a lighthearted romance, but this one had some great depth.

Top Suspense

hazardous-holidaytangled-websWithout Warning

Hazardous Holiday by Liz Johnson I really enjoyed the modern day marriage of convenience plot of this book. The suspense and danger was well written and felt realistic. Plus, Zach is a charming, honorable hero. Great book if you’re looking for a quick read.

Tangled Webs by Irene Hannon You know a story is well written when you’re sympathizing with the villain as you learn his motivations. Great conclusion to an excellent suspenseful series.

Without Warning by Lynette Eason If you enjoy strong heroines, this one’s for you. The team of female bodyguards this series is focused around make for some interesting stories.

What about you? Which great books did you read this year? Do you agree or disagree with my picks? I know there are so many more that I didn’t get a chance to read. Otherwise I’m sure they would’ve been included. Check back next year for the upcoming books I’m looking forward to most eagerly. Wishing you all a very happy New Year! May you all be blessed with plenty of good books to read.

 

One thought on “Top Reads of 2016

  1. Oh wow! I’m floored and so honored! Thank you for including my books in your list, Michelle! I’m so delighted that you enjoyed the Prince Edward Island Dreams series and Hazardous Holiday! 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

