An Uncommon Courtship

an-uncommon-courtshipI always enjoy a good marriage of convenience story, or in this case, inconvenience. The Hawthorne House series has been one of my all-time favorites. Trent and Adelaide’s story more than lived up to my expectations! I loved the interactions between Trent’s family and Adelaide.

Plot: After Lord Trent Hawthorne and Lady Adelaide Bell are trapped in the old ruins overnight, the only thing Trent can do to save her reputation is marry her. Adelaide’s older sister always got all the attention from their mother, so Adelaide doesn’t know the first thing about running a household or fixing up Trent’s bachelor house. The two try to adjust to life as a couple, but they’re struggling. When Trent realizes his wife never had a Season in London, he comes up with a plan to court Adelaide and give her a proper introduction to London.

Characters: Things were rather awkward between Trent and Adelaide many times, which I found endearing. Other times, I wanted to tell Trent to just talk to his wife instead of running to his brother. I loved Adelaide’s clumsy side; she’s far from the ‘perfectly put together’ image of a proper lady. I enjoyed when Trent started stepping up and being there for his wife, especially when her mother was unkind. If you’ve read the previous books, you’ll love the scenes where those characters make reappearances.

Content: Due to the main characters being married in the beginning of the book, there was a little talk of intimacy, but I found it to be tastefully done.

Recommendation: I’d strongly recommend reading this book, especially if you enjoy Regencies. An Uncommon Courtship is the third book in the series and it can stand alone.  I’d suggest reading all the books in order though, as the characters are closely connected. I’m excited to see what will happen in Griffith’s story! Oh, and if you enjoy fresh pineapple, I’d suggest having some on hand for a snack while reading. You’ll see why.

Rating:  4.5/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. This review is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

