Love Bears All Things by Beth Wiseman

love-bears-all-thingsAmish Fiction is one of my least favorite genres, so I didn’t really expect to like this book. I had hoped that this would be one of those that surprise me, but it still fell short. I did appreciate that the author showed some imperfections among the Amish characters, portraying them as real people that make mistakes and sin. However, there were too many situations that just didn’t feel very realistic for me to be able to enjoy the story. For example, the Amish man has an old truck sitting in his barn for years, and the main character is able to just take it out and drive it. Apparently they don’t need any kind of license plates or vehicle registrations in that area, because I’m pretty sure no real Amish would have a car registered in their name.

The dialog felt a little forced. I never like how they randomly throw in the Dutch words to make it feel ‘authentic’. I realize this is something that’s common across the genre, but it disconnects me from the story as I’m hearing fake Dutch accents in my head. As someone who works in Amish country and talks to them all the time, I’ve never know anyone to mix the languages like that.

I can’t say I’d recommend this book to anyone. I probably won’t be reading any more from this author. This is the second book in the series that follows the same characters, which may leave the reader feeling like they’re missing some background.

Rating:  2/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild. This review is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

