Long Way Gone by Charles Martin

long-way-goneThis book was such a pleasant surprise! Martin is a new-to-me author, so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I was completely drawn into the story. Packed full of emotion, this modern day prodigal son story really tugs at the heartstrings.

 

 Plot: Cooper O’Connor grew up in the shadow of his father, a tent revival preacher. At eighteen, following an argument with his father, Cooper steals his favorite guitar and money , taking off for Nashville in search of his big break. Things don’t go as planned, but his pride won’t let Cooper go crawling back to his father. As he gradually scrapes his way to the top, he meets Daley Cross, an amazingly talented singer. Cooper shares a song he wrote with Daley which turns into a big hit. Tragedy strikes, ruining Cooper’s chances to win Daley’s heart and the two go their separate ways. Many years later, they’re reunited when Cooper returns home, but it may be too late for him to reconcile.

 

The story’s told through Cooper’s point of view. I enjoyed how it was divided into parts, telling both the past and the present, so the reader learns all about the events that have shaped Cooper’s life. As a music lover, I really enjoyed the in depth look at some music history. And how about that gorgeous cover? I love the subtle way they made the road and guitar blend together.

 

 Recommendation: I’d highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction with a great message of hope and redemption. I found it comparable to Nicholas Sparks. I’d suggest making sure you have plenty of tissues handy, as you’ll probably need them several times. I will definitely be looking to read more books from this author.

 

 Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

 I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild. This review is my honest opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

