The Candidate by Lis Wiehl

the-candidate

I didn’t enjoy the first book of this series and I don’t know why I bothered reading this one. While the plot was interesting, it was difficult for me to get through. I didn’t really care about most of the characters because of the fact that I’m fed up with both politicians and the media. The story is told using the third person present tense, which I found annoying to read. I was also disappointed to see the romance that began in the previous book didn’t develop in this story.

Plot: In the middle of a hot Presidential race, journalist Erica Sparks begins to grow suspicious that there’s more to one of the candidates than what meets the eye. Something just seems off with his interview. When another potential candidate is brutally killed right in front of Erica, her curiosity won’t let her stop digging for the truth. Erica’s quest may put her in extreme danger, but if she stops, they win.

Content: While this book is from a Christian publisher, I’d consider it more for the general market. There wasn’t any mention of God and although the author doesn’t go into too much detail, a couple of the female characters are apparently in a relationship.

Recommendation: I can’t say I’d recommend this book to anyone. If you enjoy political thrillers, this book does have a good storyline and some interesting twists. I will not be reading any more from this author.

Rating:  2/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild. This review is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

