To the Farthest Shores by Elizabeth Camden

To the farthest shoresThis was a well-written story that took me by surprise. With many of the characters hiding secrets from their pasts, a bit of danger and intrigue, as well as a clean romance, this book was thoroughly enjoyable. I enjoyed the unique storyline, which gives a nice look at the Japanese culture. I liked the late 1800-early 1900 time period, as it’s not commonly used in historical fiction.

Plot: Nurse Jenny and Navel Officer Ryan met when Ryan was recovering from an injury. The couple fell in love, then Ryan was assigned overseas. Jenny promised to wait until Ryan returned, but then she receives a letter ending the relationship and breaking her heart. Six years later, Ryan’s back and he needs Jenny’s help, but she doesn’t know if she can forgive him.

Characters: I really liked Jenny. She’s had a tough life, but she’s tried to make the best of it and become a better person. I didn’t care for Ryan at first, because of what he did to Jenny, but as I learned about the things that happened to him, I started to like him more. Seeing his relationship with his daughter, Lily, really melted me, though. There’s another side character, Finn, that almost steals the story and I’m really hoping he will get his own story!

Recommendation: I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical inspirational fiction. The author did a nice job of balancing the story with the theme of forgiveness. I’d never read anything from this author before and this story has me adding the rest of her books to my to-read list.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. This review is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

