Behind the Scenes by Jen Turano

Behind the ScenesI’ve read books from this author before and enjoyed them, so I was surprised to find myself struggling to get through this one. It started our really slow, with the first 100 pages of the book all taking place in a few hours time. When we finally got through that first scene, the story started picking up, but I had almost given up on it. The beginning of the book seemed overly wordy, but either it improved, or as the action picked up, I didn’t notice it as much. I think if the first 100 pages had been cut to about 25, I’d have really enjoyed this book.

Plot: Permilia Griswold is a wallflower. While this makes her a bit on the outside of society, she’s in the ideal position to pick up on gossip and the goings on of high society. The fact that she’s been writing a gossip column for the papers is something she’d really prefer to keep hidden. When she overhears an evil plot against Asher Rutherford, she knows she must warn him. However, when he doesn’t believe her, Permilia must take action.

Characters: Talk about quirky! The author’s created a group of very unique individuals in this series. I enjoy a little bit of that, if it doesn’t border on ridiculousness. This story toed the line. I really liked Asher and his best friend. They seemed to be the only ‘normal’ characters in the story.

Content: This one is pretty G-rated. I didn’t find anything objectionable. As far as spiritual content goes, this one was pretty light, so it could be a good one for a variety of readers.

Recommendation: I’d only recommend this book to those who are looking for a light hearted read. It’s the first book in the series and I probably won’t bother reading the next ones.

Rating:  2.5/5 stars

I received a copy of this book from Bethany House. This review is my honest opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

